Chocolate Cherry Eggless Muffins

Leave a comment

May 20, 2010 by jenniebean10


Chocolate Cherry Muffins

I hail from Michigan, and I think one of the best fruits grown in the lovely mitten are cherries.  Bing cherries, to be precise.  During the semester, I had used up my bag of dried bing cherries when I baked oatmeal cherry white chocolate chip cookies and a vegan chocolate cherry cake, so I have been dying for more.  When my parents sent me a care package for finals week, I pulled out a baggie full of those delicious, sweet, chewy cherries (thanks Mom!).  Naturally, to break in my summer home, I had to bake something I would try at home.

Chocolate Cherry Eggless Muffins

yield: 10-12 muffins; bake at 350°, 20-25 min

1 c flour
1 T baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
4 T butter
1/2 c sugar
1/2 c milk
4 T cocoa powder
1/2 c dried cherries

Sift together flour, baking powder, cocoa powder and baking soda.  Heat the milk in small saucepan and simmer.  Add the butter and stir until it begins to melt.  In large bowl, add sugar, lukewarm milk & butter, and beat until sugar is dissolved.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and whisk together. Add the cherries to the batter and pour in muffin tin.  Preheat oven to 350°F and bake for 20-25 min.

So while these were tasty, they were quite dry.  Next time, I might use the eggs or add additional milk.  You could easily make this recipe vegan by substituting the butter for Earth Balance spread and the milk for soy or almond milk (oooh that might be tasty!)

I ended up turning it into a:

Chocolate Cherry Bread Pudding — I crumbled up the muffins into a square pyrex dish, whisked together about 1/2 c milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla, a little bit of sugar, cinnamon and 2 medium eggs, and poured it over the muffins, letting it soak for about 20 min.

Then I popped it in the oven for about 25 min at 350° and it was much better!  Pretty good cold, too.

Share your thoughts!

