Grilled Cheese and more

Leave a comment

May 25, 2010 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My friend bailed on me for dinner, so I had to scratch my plans for the meal and improvise.  I’m a big fan of cheese, and a sucker for fresh bread.  The Costco nearby sells loaves of bread from the La Brea Bakery, and so this newly-formed dinner plan thrown together with random groceries ended up being DELICIOUS.  I’m not-so-secretly glad that my friend bailed on me.  And seriously, the chicken didn’t really add much to the dish, I just had to cook it before it went bad!

Grilled Cheese + Tomato + Avocado + Chicken Mini Sandwiches

french demi-baguette

ripe Hass avocado

Roma tomatoes

cooked chicken thigh

mild cheddar cheese (or any type of cheese)

olive oil

salt

Slice the bread, cheese, avocado, tomato and chicken.  Brush one face of the bread slice with olive oil (the side that will face the pan), then stack the ingredients on the sandwich.  Sprinkle a little bit of salt on the tomatoes if you’d like.  Place the sandwich(es) on a hot pan lightly coated with olive oil, then grill by placing a heavy pan down on the sandwiches (I used a cast-iron skillet) – make sure to spray/wipe it with oil and brush the bread with olive oil as well.  Grill until the cheese is melted and the bread is nice and crisp.

I watched a video of Alton Brown making a grilled cheese sandwich, and he said that you should shred your cheese, never slice it, because it will melt better this way.  My cheese melted fine and I didn’t have to clean up a grater afterwards….but if you so desire, try it out with shredded cheese instead!

Share your thoughts!

