Banana Bread

1

June 5, 2010 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Banana bread is one of my favorite things to bake, especially during the school year.  I usually grab a piece of fruit when I leave the dining hall, and sometimes I don’t eat it.  When it’s a banana, it gets overripe and too mushy to eat….but PERFECT for baking banana bread!  I have 2 or 3 recipes that I really like, including some vegan ones.  I will probably post those at some point on here.  When I was younger, my mom would buy bananas, but then my brother and I wouldn’t eat them so that they’d get overripe and my mom would have to bake banana bread with them.  I baked this the other day because the girl I sit for doesn’t like breakfast foods.  She refused to eat breakfast, but then tried to get away with eating chocolate right before school.  I baked this in an attempt to get her to eat something substantial in the mornings.  This is the exact recipe that my mom uses, and is by far my favorite recipe for banana bread:

Hawaiian Banana Bread

1-1/4 cups sifted flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup shortening or butter
3 small ripe bananas or 1 cup mashed
2 eggs, well beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup chopped nuts or chocolate chips (optional)

Combine shortening and dry ingredients in bowl with
fingers.  Add pureed bananas, eggs, and vanilla.  Fold
egg mixture into dry ingredients quickly — do not
overmix.  (Batter should be lumpy.)  Spoon mixture
into buttered and lightly floured 9” square or loaf
pan.  Smooth surface with back of spoon, then remove
air bubbles by bringing pan down sharply on counter a
few times.  Bake at 350 for 40-45 minutes.  Remove
from oven, and let stand at least 5 minutes before
removing from pan.  Cool well before cutting.  Freezes
well.

**Can also add cinnamon and/or nutmeg.
**Can substitute 1 cup coconut for nuts.

Oh yeah, my best friend Annie and I skyped while I was baking the banana bread, so you could say that she helped too! : )

One thought on “Banana Bread

  1. […] it. And baking is one of the things that I enjoy doing most. I’ve got another recipe up for banana bread, but I like this one a lot better. It’s not vegan, but with substitutions, it could be! […]

Share your thoughts!

