Cherry Chicken Salad

Leave a comment

June 30, 2010 by jenniebean10

and homemade mayonnaise


I honestly don’t remember why I wanted to make mayonnaise.  I don’t have any in my house, but I didn’t really need it…..  I just felt like doing it. Recipes online call for different techniques — some are done by hand, some involve letting all the ingredients sit at room temperature for a while.  Because I have the power of an immersion blender, I attempted a quick and easy mayo, and let me tell you: it was a piece of cake!

Quick Mayonnaise

1 large egg
2 t. dijon mustard
1 T. lemon juice
200 ml (3/4 c + 1 T) canola oil (or another oil)
pinch of salt

Add ingredients into immersion blender container.  Blend until thickened.

So once I had the mayo, I didn’t know what to do with it.  I decided to make some chicken salad with this tasty mayo, but I didn’t have any grapes.  If you’ve read my previous posts, you know how much I love cherries (!!!).  They were cheaper than grapes at Sprouts last week, so I decided to get them and make myself some cherry chicken salad.

These were the ingredients I used in the chicken salad:

chicken (sauteed in olive oil, salt and pepper than cut up small), cherries (pitted and quartered), green onion sliced thin, half of a granny smith apple diced (I just like a little bit of crunch to the salad – celery would taste good too!), and my homemade mayonnaise.

The chicken salad tasted great on top of some lettuce, and it’s a nice, refreshing summer lunch!  Good on whole wheat toast, too.

If you don’t like mayo, I’m sorry.  Don’t hate on the mayo!

Share your thoughts!

