Cheese Cave – Fromager d’Affinois

Leave a comment

July 7, 2010 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pretty much my new favorite place in the village, with Yogurtland at a close second.  They’re located near 4th and Yale, across the street from Walters.  Elaine and Liz were walking around the village and found that CHEESE CAVE HAD OPENED!!!!  Thankfully, they called me right away and I biked down there as fast as I possibly could.  One of the owners (Marnie or Lyddie, I don’t remember) let us taste some delicious cheeses, and I even tried two blue cheese.  Let me just say that I had NO IDEA blue cheese could actually taste good.  My mind was blown.  I felt like Ratatouille tasting a multitude of different flavors in one little tiny bite of cheese!  To quote a friend who once stated this so eloquently on Top Chef Masters, it was “like an adventure in my mouth” =P

Of the cheeses that we tried, we purchased this Fromager d’Affinois, a French double-cream made from cow’s milk. It reminds me of brie, but a bajillion times better (who knew that was even possible).  We took it to Santa Monica on our beach trip to eat with a fresh baguette purchased from the farmer’s market, and we still haven’t finished it.  It spreads like butter, so a little bit goes a long way.  We bought 1/3 of a lb. and it ended up costing $6.  You can see in the pictures that it’s so oozy and gooey that it just sticks to the paper….***drool***

Share your thoughts!

