Strawberry Sage Sorbet

3

July 10, 2010 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love strawberries — not just any strawberries, though…ripe strawberries.  Do you ever bite into a strawberry and find that it’s white in the middle?  The best thing you could ever do is pick your own strawberries, because you know they will be fully ripe.  Those berries are so delicate that it’s nearly impossible to ship them when they’re completely ripe.  They would just mush all over the place! Pomona has a small farm on campus, and during the summer the strawberry plants are just dripping with fruit.  I was able to pick some extremely ripe strawberries with a friend, and rather than eating them like candy I decided to whip up a few strawberry desserts.  Unfortunately, I do not own an ice cream maker at school, so I had to make do without.  Here is a great recipe for strawberry sage sorbet without a machine!

Strawberry Sage Sorbet

1 lb. (approx) strawberries, hulled and quartered
1/2 c. sugar
small handful of sage, chopped
1/2 c. water

Put 1/2 c water, 1/2 c sugar and sage in a small saucepan on stove. Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Let the sage syrup simmer for 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, puree the strawberries (I used an immersion blender).  Strain the blended strawberries into a mixing bowl to get rid of some of the seeds.  This will give the sorbet a smoother texture.  Pour the sage syrup through a strainer and into the strawberry puree so that you don’t have bits of sage in your sorbet.  Use the blender again to finish your unfrozen sorbet.  Pour into a shallow container, cover, and stick in the freezer.  After a few hours. your sorbet should be starting to freeze.  Stir the sorbet every few hours, and even blend again if you wish.  Overnight, the sorbet should freeze completely and you’re ready to enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Sage Sorbet

  1. Richard Schrade says:

    Jen

    If I am not a big fan of sage, can I leave that out and get plain strawberry sorbet?

    R

  2. Bria says:

    Woo-hoo! You are back and posting! If only I had some strawberries I could try this…I keep finding all these delicious recipes for ice cream but they all need an ice cream maker! Maybe I will experiment with this after I am done with my paper. (Btw – want to take my survey when I have it ready?! It’ll be short…)

Share your thoughts!

