Strawberry Souffle

3

July 4, 2011 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I haven’t posted anything in my blog this past year because there has been no time. Between finishing up research and writing my senior thesis, there was no time to write blog posts, that is. Plenty of time to bake, though! I just graduated from Pomona, and now I’m back at it! While I apply for jobs and catch up on my reading this summer, I’m also cooking up some awesome stuff.

There is an abundance of strawberries this summer. It’s getting ridiculous — 97 cents for a pound of berries…I just can’t help myself! I’ve made strawberry cake twice already, strawberry muffins, strawberry milkshakes, and strawberry souffles (3 times!!!)

My friend Rachel was talking about souffles the other day, and so I got inspired. She is a very generous person and often lets me use her kitchen to bake things. I love friends like that! I had never made souffles before, so this could either fail miserably or be extremely delicious. Luckily…and maybe skillfully…it turned out to be the latter. I tried my luck again up at my godparents’ house up near San Jose – the pictures feature these souffles, because they were the prettiest. You guys have been nagging me to post the recipe for strawberry souffles on my blog, so here goes:

Strawberry Souffles

12 oz. fresh strawberries, about 3/4 of a pound package (trimmed, cored, cut in quarters)
1/2 c. granulated sugar (1/4 c + 1/4 c)
1 T. cornstarch
4 large egg whites
pinch of salt

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Butter and sugar (use powdered sugar) six small ramekins and put them in the fridge. In a food processor or blender, combine the strawberries, 1/4 sugar and cornstarch. Blend until smooth.

In a large bowl, beat the egg whites to soft peaks. (You will know the egg whites are ready when they get really fluffy and start to stick to the sides of the bowl. They won’t be foamy anymore, and when you pull the beaters up from the mixture, the peaks will set up, but the tops will fold over.) Now, add the 1/4 c sugar and pinch of salt, and continue beating the egg whites just until they form stiff peaks. Do not overbeat the eggs! They’ll become too dry. Whisk 1/3 of the strawberry mixture into the egg whites, and gently fold in the rest until evenly incorporated. Don’t overmix!

Fill the ramekins to the top (a small ladle works great), and use the back of a butter knife to level them. Discard the rest of the batter unless there is enough to fill another ramekin completely. Place the ramekins on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 14-17 minutes until the tops of the souffles are golden brown. They will puff up in the oven. Let the entire tops of the souffles turn golden brown, else when you pull them out of the oven the centers will sink. Use your oven light to keep an eye on the souffles — don’t be tempted to open the oven door! When they are done, carefully remove them from the oven and serve them immediately. Be gentle taking them out so they don’t fall. They will sink down a little bit as they cool.

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Souffle

  1. Liza says:

    0. i’ll learn to do this right eventually.
    1. this is far more hi-tech than any blog i have ever seen.
    2. and it’s pretty. i like the pictures. and the selected bold words.
    3. what will it take for you to make me food every day?

  2. Mary Buchner says:

    They are tasty! Also, your house is super cold ALL THE TIME, which will help with the egg whites and such. 😀

  3. Stephanie says:

    Om nom! I might try to make these… “try” being the operative word. 🙂

Share your thoughts!

