Strawberry Cake (and Muffins!)

3

July 5, 2011 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Strawberries! Strawberries! More strawberries! I went to a BBQ just after I graduated, and I was looking for something easy and delicious to make. I found this recipe on smitten kitchen, who said “I hope this will be your summer cake,” and it absolutely is. It turns out, this batter works for great muffins, too. Thanks, smitten kitchen — I love this cake. The cake takes a long time to bake because it’s at such a low temp, but the strawberries turn to jam and it’s the most amazing thing ever. I feel like most baked goods need cinnamon in them because cinnamon makes everything better, so I added that, and then substituted turbinado sugar for the granulated sugar. I used a wooden spoon to cream together the butter and sugar instead of whipping it with an electric mixer. Here’s my version of the recipe, adapted from smitten kitchen with the few changes. I recommend the muffins.

Strawberry Summer Cake

6 T unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 c flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 T cinnamon
1 c plus 2 T turbinado sugar
1 large egg
1/2 c milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 pound fresh strawberries, hulled and halved

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter a 9-inch deep-dish (or larger) pie pan or a muffin tray.

Whisk flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt together in a small bowl. In a larger bowl, cream together the butter and 1 c sugar. Stir in the egg, milk and vanilla until combined. Add dry mixture gradually, mixing until just smooth.

Pour into prepared pie plate. Arrange strawberries, cut side down, on top of batter, as closely as possible in a single layer. I pressed mine into the batter a little bit and tried to jam as many of the strawberries in there as I could. Sprinkle remaining 2 T sugar over the berries. **Don’t forget to do this step! I almost forgot, and this is what turns the strawberries into delicious goo.

Bake cake for 10 minutes, then the oven temp to 325°F and bake until golden brown and a toothpick or knife comes out clean, anywhere from 50 min to 1 hr 10 min. Leave in pan and cool for as long as you can stand on a cooling rack. Cut into slices (or remove muffins) and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Cake (and Muffins!)

  1. Dawn Hogh says:

    Made the strawberry cupcakes yesterday. Even my husband, who isn’t fond of strawberries, liked them. Yum Yum! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Dawn Hogh says:

    Jen,
    These look awesome. How long do you cook them as muffins? Wonder if I can still get strawberries to make them…my mouth is watering!

Share your thoughts!

