Roasted Eggplant with Couscous

Leave a comment

September 25, 2011 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think my trip to the farmer’s market in Gettysburg was doomed from the get-go. I came home from work, planning to leave directly for the market so that I could get some good produce before it was gone. Well wouldn’t you know it, I was tired when I got home….so I fell asleep for about 20 minutes. I woke up and realized that I was going to miss the farmer’s market, grabbed my stuff, hopped in the car and drove over. I almost biked, but it’s a good thing I didn’t. Because I forgot my wallet.

Went home, got my wallet, headed back to the farmer’s market, and I got quite the haul for only $10: half gallon of cider, 2 candy onions, 3 green peppers, 4 red peppers, 3 roma tomatoes, a pint of orange cherry tomatoes, and an eggplant.

Ahh, the eggplant. I know that I like eggplant, but I’ve never cooked it before. Apparently it’s a berry, and it goes bad pretty quickly if you don’t do anything with it. It has been sitting on my counter since Wednesday night, vexing me. What the heck am I going to do with this eggplant? I stopped thinking about the eggplant.

Dinnertime rolled around tonight and I was all set to eat a delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I still have some early glow strawberry preserves from American Spoon Foods in my pantry, so I got pretty excited about this sandwich. And then I remembered the eggplant. It was sitting on my counter, a plump little demon, staring me down. Goodbye delicious PB&J, hello eggplant.

I took the least-effort approach and cubed the eggplant, then roasted it with some olive oil and black pepper in my ginormous toaster oven. Then, I diced some green peppers and onions and sauteed them real quick in some olive oil. Cooked up a half cup of couscous, added some dried basil, and threw everything together with a roma tomato and a tablespoon of AMAZING fig balsamic vinegar from Fustini’s. For all the whining I did about the stupid little eggplant, it actually turned out well. It was tasty, and now I have enough left for 2 or 3 more meals.

Here’s the recipe if you ever find yourself stuck with a devious eggplant in your kitchen.

Roasted Eggplant with Couscous

1 eggplant, cubed
1/2 c. chopped green pepper
1/2 c. chopped red onion
1 roma tomato
2 T. olive oil
1/2 c. couscous
1 c. water
1 T. butter
splash of fig balsamic vinegar (from Fustini’s! cherry would probably be good, too)
salt, pepper, basil to taste

Preheat oven to 425°F. Cut the eggplant into small cubes and lay out on cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil. Brush the eggplant with olive oil and sprinkle with ground pepper. Roast in oven for ~25 minutes, moving them around occasionally so they cook evenly.

Chop the onions and peppers and sautee in olive oil until done. Set aside.

While vegetables are cooking, bring 1 c. water and 1 T. butter to a boil. Add 1/2 c. couscous, stir, cover, and remove from heat. Let sit for 5-7 min, or until couscous has absorbed all the liquid. Sprinkle in chopped or dried basil and fluff with a fork.

Combine all the veggies in with the couscous and stir together. Add a splash of fig (or other) balsamic vinegar and mix together. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Share your thoughts!

