Midnight Banana Pudding

3

May 31, 2012 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m not a blogger. Or if I am, I’m the worst one ever. I haven’t updated since the fall. I tease you with pictures of delicious food on Facebook, and then I never post the recipes. I promise you a detailed post on poached eggs, which will explain my obsession, and then I don’t deliver. At least not yet. I swear, I’ll write that one….soon!

Not only am I a terrible “blogger,” but I’m a bad person, too. Here’s some of the bad things I did today:

  • I set my alarm for 6:50 A.M. but hit the snooze button 6 times.
  • I skipped lunch and, instead, laid out and got a sunburn.
  • Even though I’m driving home to Michigan tomorrow morning (an 8 hour trip), I got up from bed around midnight to make banana pudding. And then I started this blog post, while I should be sleeping.
  • This adds to my bad blogger persona, but…I didn’t take any pictures while cooking. I decided to restore my iPhone while I was making the pudding, which meant no camera. Oops. Sorry!

Let me start by saying that I have a weird relationship with bananas. And before I continue, get your mind out of the gutter. I love to eat bananas. I’ll usually take one to work with me, or bring one on a trip when I know I’ll want a snack. A good majority of the time, I don’t end up eating the banana. It does a bit of travelling, gets bruised, becomes too ripe to eat, and then I have to figure out what to do with it. When I was younger, my mom would ask my big bro and me if she should buy bananas. “Are you guys actually going to EAT the bananas? I don’t want to buy bananas if you’re going to let them sit and get overripe so that I have to make banana bread.” My mom’s banana bread is the bomb-diggity. Of course we said we’d eat the bananas. And then we’d not-so-accidentally forget to eat them. That’s right, mom — we tricked you! Mwuahahahaha…. But tonight, as I tried to fall asleep, I thought about the ugly banana I’ve carried to work 2 days in a row that was sitting on my kitchen table. I surely wouldn’t eat it for breakfast — the skin was all black, the fruit was all mushy, and it looked like a charred body. Nuh-uh. Make banana bread? Heck no, that’s at least a 45 minute investment! I’m not a huge pudding fan, but for some reason that sounded pretty appealing (read: easy) to me. So here I am, writing about the pudding I made at midnight. This is my first time making pudding. Honestly, I’ve never even made that weird Jell-O pudding from a box! And I would say this turned out pretty well! Here goes….

Midnight Banana Pudding
(makes 2 servings)

1 T. cornstarch
2 T. raw cane sugar (or whatever, use that super-refined white sugar if you want. I haven’t baked with that stuff in about 2 years and I won’t go back)
1 c. skim milk
1 large egg
1 small/medium overripe banana, mashed or pureed
1/2 t. pure vanilla extract
1 t. unsalted butter, cut up into little pieces
1/8 t. cinnamon

In a small bowl, mash or purée the banana, then stir in the vanilla, little pieces of butter, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the cornstarch and sugar. Gradually add the milk while whisking together, and continue to whisk until smooth. Cook the mixture over medium heat until thick and bubbly, stirring constantly. (It will start to foam a little at the beginning, but wait until it gets bubbly all the way through and really thickens up.) Reduce to low heat, continue stirring, and cook for an additional 2 minutes.

In a medium bowl, beat the egg. Pour in a little bit of the foamy milk mixture while still whisking the egg so that the warm liquid doesn’t cook the egg. Pour the egg mixture into the saucepan and whisk together.

Over medium heat, bring the pudding to a gentle boil and continue stirring. Once it starts to boil, cook it for one minute longer. Remove from heat, stir in banana mixture, and pour into containers or serving dishes.

Let chill in fridge for at least 2 hrs, and up to 2 days, before serving. Add chocolate chips or stir in some melted peanut butter for added deliciousness. I’m going to eat mine out of an old jam jar while I’m on the turnpike tomorrow!

It smelled good enough that I tried a spoonful and had to re-brush my teeth before heading back to bed. I’m glad it was worth it! And now I’m happy that damn banana didn’t go to waste. Good night!

3 thoughts on “Midnight Banana Pudding

  1. Jose Mendoza says:

    Can’t you just make it for me instead? D: Looks good, now onto some easy to make pastries I can do

  2. Afton says:

    Here’s inspiration to blog more- Jennie. I just made this! It’s in the fridge, I can’t wait to try it! I did lick the spoon and bowl clean though, so I know it’s yummy. The farmer’s market egg I bought had a dark orange yolk, so it made the pudding such a pretty yellow color!

Share your thoughts!

