Mediterranean Dip

Leave a comment

June 5, 2012 by jenniebean10

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My friends were hosting an end-of-semester party a few weeks ago, which was an excuse for me to try out a new recipe. While thinking about what I should bring, I stumbled across this recipe for a delicious looking Mediterranean dip on Pinterest. If you like baking/cooking and you aren’t on Pinterest, I suggest you get on it. Now.

A quick description of Pinterest: It’s a virtual pinboard. A place where you can keep internet bookmarks organized, and these bookmarks are represented as images. You can see things that your friends have “pinned,” and if you like them or want to try them, you can re-pin them on your own boards. It’s not always the best thing to check when it’s half an hour before you leave work and you’re already starving, because it might will drive you insane. Also, it’s NOT the “female version of Reddit.”

I recently bought my first immersion blender, and I’ve found it to be great for things like soups and ice cream (yeah, posts about those will show up sometime). This was the first time I used it for hummus, and it was very exciting. Before my fancy immersion blender, I was pretty scrappy – I didn’t have a food processor, so I used a fork, potato masher, hand mixer, then finally my Magic Bullet (heck yeah!) to make hummus. This time, it turned out super-smooth and utterly delicious. I was kind of sad to put it in this dip, because I just wanted to eat the hummus plain. Note to my big bro: you best use the tahini I’m giving you to make this hummus!

Anyways, back to the recipes. This first part is for my hummus, which is the bottom layer of the 8-layer Mediterranean Dip:

Garlic Hummus
1-15 oz. can of chickpeas, drained (reserve the water from the can) and peeled (this isn’t totally necessary and it’s slightly time-consuming, but I don’t like the skins)
2-3 T. tahini, to taste
2-3 cloves garlic, minced or made into paste
juice from half of a medium lemon (1-2 T)
1-2 T. (a couple glugs) olive oil
salt, to taste

Drain the chickpeas, saving the chickpea water for later, when you blend up the hummus. Rinse and peel the chickpeas. (Like I said before, this step isn’t totally necessary, but I think it makes the texture better, especially if you don’t have an immersion blender or a food processor and need to mash the hummus by hand.) Place chickpeas in a bowl with about 1/4 c. of the chickpea water, the tahini, garlic, lemon juice and olive oil, and blend! Add more chickpea water as needed for desired consistency, and, if necessary, add salt to taste.

And now for the dip! Found on Pinterest, originally from Whole Foods

8-Layer Mediterranean Dip
fills an 8×8 glass square dish
Layer 1:   hummus
Layer 2:  1 c. fresh spinach, roughly chopped and scattered over hummus
Layer 3:  1 large roasted red pepper, cut into small pieces
Layer 4:  6 oz. jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained and roughly chopped
Layer 5:  1 c. nonfat Greek yogurt, dropped in dollops between the artichoke hearts and spread evenly overtop
Layer 6:  1/2 c. sliced and pitted black or Kalamata olives
Layer 7:  1/4 c. sliced green onions
Layer 8:  crumbled feta cheese

Serve with pita or tortilla chips and devour.

Share your thoughts!

