Butternut Squash & Mushroom Risotto: an ode to fall

3

October 10, 2012 by jenniebean10

I love fall! I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT!!!!! Pumpkins, apples, cider, squash, I LOVE IT ALL! It’s the time of year when I stop missing California and start stepping on all the crunchy leaves. It makes me miss the amazing foliage in Michigan, because we don’t get incredible vibrant colors in Pennsylvania, but prettier colors can be seen much easier by heading north. Expect some fantastisch pictures in a couple of weeks, after my next getaway to Ithaca.

For now, I’m just celebrating fall by getting adorable little squashies at the farmer’s market and preparing myself for apple picking. I picked up this little butternut squash, and I had the hardest time deciding what to do with it. Roast it? Make soup? Muffins? Attempt ravioli? Chili? The possibilities were endless. Risotto popped into my head, and that was the end of the decision-making process.

Also, I will warn you that I used a pressure cooker (!!) to make my risotto. One of my friends, Caitlin, shared with me her love for pressure cooker risotto. It makes life easier because you don’t have to stir the risotto constantly, and it cuts the time for cooking your risotto in half, AT LEAST. It’s the only way I make my risotto now. Of course, you can modify this recipe and make the risotto the normal and “purist” way, but if you have a pressure cooker, I would highly recommend using it anytime you make risotto.

Butternut Squash and Mushroom Risotto

makes about 5 large, main dish servings

1 butternut squash (mine was 1 lb), peeled and cubed
1 large shallot, diced
8 oz. mushrooms, brushed and sliced
2 sprigs thyme
1 t. olive oil
3 T butter
1/4 c. dry white wine
1 1/2 c. arborio rice
4 c. (one 32 oz. container) vegetable broth
1/2 c. shredded parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Cut up your butternut squash. I did this by slicing off the bottom, just so I could stand it on my cutting board. Then, I used a peeler to take the skin off the squash. I cut it in half, length-wise, and used a spoon to scoop out the insides. Then I just cut the rest of the squash into cubes and it was ready to go on the stove.

 

  

this one little shallot had the power to push me to tears!

Place the pressure cooker on the stove, and heat up 2T of butter. Sauté the shallots until soft. Stir in the cubed squash, add 1 more tablespoon of butter, and cook until soft (10-15 m). Dump the squash/shallot misture out in a mixing bowl and puree with an immersion blender.

Place the pressure cooker back on the stove, and add the rice with 1 t. olive oil. Stir, coating the rice, and toast the rice for 3 minutes. Add the wine and cook until the liquid is gone. **If you’re just using a regular pot and NOT a pressure cooker, add the squash puree and 2 c. veggie broth. Stir frequently, and add the additional veggie broth cup by cup until the rice has absorbed it all.**Add the squash purée and the vegetable broth, give it a stir, and seal the pressure cooker.

Turn up the heat (I did medium-high) and bring up to pressure. Once the pressure is up, lower the heat (I lowered mine to medium) as to still maintain the pressure, and cook for 6-8 minutes. While the risotto is in the pressure cooker, slice and sauté the mushrooms in tiny bit of olive oil with the thyme. After 6-8 min is up, turn the stove off. Once the pressure has been released, open the cooker, stir in the parmesan cheese and the mushrooms, and serve!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And finally, here is the music I listened to while I made this risotto: http://www.npr.org/2012/09/30/161697973/first-listen-lord-huron-lonesome-dreams … Lord Huron is new to me, but I’m digging them a lot! Their album came out yesterday, but you can still listen to it on NPR’s First Listen. ENJOY! :]

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash & Mushroom Risotto: an ode to fall

  1. Afton says:

    Hit up Trader Joes tonight and bought the rest of the ingredients for this. Except mushrooms. Blech.

Share your thoughts!

