Beach, Ruzafa, Paella

3

October 29, 2013 by jenniebean10

IMG_6340I’ve been in Spain for just over a week now. Some less interesting updates: I’m doing my fair share of relaxing, I’ve nearly recovered from my illness, I joined a gym, bought a bike (pictures to come!), purchased some minimal baking supplies, and am meeting lots of new people. What a life!IMG_6326
On Saturday afternoon my friend took me to Malvarrosa, a neighborhood near the beach, where we grabbed lunch at an awesome vegetarian café. They had a seitan bocadillo on their menu!!! IT WAS DELICIOUS.

seitan bocadillo

seitan bocadillo

thai pasta

thai pasta

Walking along the beach, we saw 4 jellyfish (2 small and 2 huge) that had washed up on the shore. We were glad we hadn’t planned to go swimming.IMG_6325

Later that evening, we headed to a barrio called Ruzafa where we met up with a friend, David (the paella expert). He brews beer here at a microbrewery called Tyris, and the bar we met at serves Tyris cervezas. Not only did I learn a bit about proper methods of storing and drinking beer, but I also learned a new Cátalan toast – “Salut i força al canut!” Some less-than-virtuous things can follow this phrase, but it basically means “to your health and wealth.” La canut is a little coinpurse which I’m guessing goes around your neck, since this is what everyone was gesturing to me as I asked people throughout the night what it meant.IMG_6344 IMG_6345

Sometimes, being an English speaker here is fun. These people got excited when they heard me speaking in English, so we had a fun time practicing Spanish/English with each other. Their friend was sporting a mullet (though you can’t see it here), and I taught him about “business in the front, party in the back.”

mullet man!

mullet man!

my Spanish fanclub for the night

my Spanish fanclub for the night

Do we catch up on sleep during the weekend here in Spain? Never! After drinks, we went dancing. I got home around 6am, which was actually 5am because daylight savings happened in this timezone sometime while we were out. It was very confusing when I called my friend in the States.

“Isn’t it 6am there??”
“…No, it’s only 5!”
“But you’re 6 hours ahead and it’s midnight here.”
“Yes, we’re 6 hours ahead, but it’s 5. My computer says 5, my phone says 5, I don’t know what’s going on!”

paella!

paella!

IMG_7097

Ausias, Rebe, David, Me

Then on Sunday, we had some friends over for lunch and David cooked a beautiful paella for us. As you can see, his presentation was much nicer than ours… (But we think our flavor was better.) IMG_6378

salut i força al canut!

salut i força al canut!

IMG_6363

brownies in a nontraditional brownie dish

I baked brownies in lieu of a birthday cake, as we were celebrating David and Ausias’s birthdays. No candles, but I held up my index finger for them to blow out. It was incredibly hot outside, so we had to eat inside. Now if only it would cool down here soon so that I don’t have to keep going to the beach…

IMG_7112

Luna, the life of the party, has arrived!

3 thoughts on “Beach, Ruzafa, Paella

  1. PAELLA NOM NOM NOM NOM
    Also mullets are da bomb

  2. Kelsey Mc says:

    1. That jellyfish looked cool. I’ve never seen one in real life.
    2. The time change thing got me when I was in France! Not sure why they change at different times.
    3. On that note, I meant to send you this article I found but I was on my phone and it was too hard. Google something about Spain being in the wrong time zone and it causing Spanish workers to be sluggish.
    4. When I first saw that brownie picture on FB or wherever I couldn’t figure out what it was. Presentation!!

Share your thoughts!

