Hhhappy Hhhalloween & Hiking

2

November 8, 2013 by jenniebean10

Hhhappy Hhhalloween!

Hhhappy Hhhalloween!

Oops, I haven’t posted for a while! Rest assured, I’m still alive, and I’m not incarcerated. Last weekend was Halloween, and it may have been the first time that I didn’t do anything traditionally Halloweenie. Luckily my fabulous friends from home sent me plenty of crazy pictures of their costumes, but I missed dressing up and going out. I saw lots of decorations at bars and shops, so they obviously celebrate over here, but not in the same way. The bigger event is el día de Todos Los Santos (All Saints’ Day), which is a national holiday. Many stores are closed and the cemeteries are packed, because everyone visits their loved ones who have passed. Sorry I don’t have much to report on that end. No pumpkin carving, no costume, no party, NO CANDY CORNS FOR ME! I went with Rebe and Luna down to Alcoy again, where we cooked some great meals with her father, went hiking, and checked out the Feria de Todos los Santos.alcoycollage

My first time cooking clams! Check out the video (which I had to upload to YouTube because my WordPress subscription doesn’t allow for video uploads, BLAH). We also cooked trout with ham and a garlic lemon sauce, and there’s always delicious wine. While we cooked dinner the evening we arrived, Rebeca’s father prepared a beef stew for the next day, made from meat from the jaw.

QUESO FRESCO

QUESO FRESCO

I don't know what these are! Some tangy fruit.

I don’t know what these are! Some tangy fruit. Anyone have ideas?

mazapanes

mazapanes! super sweet, super tasty

We went on a couple of hikes, and got to see some great views of the city. We got a little lost, continued on some unknown path, and right after I said, “What’s the worst that could happen?” we heard gunshots from hunters in the area. Whoops. We did an about face and headed on a different route.

IMG_6542 IMG_6543 IMG_6553

OK, and lies. I did get a costume. I’m Fabrizio! See the resemblance??? Haha 😄
IMG_5851 HalloweenFabrizio

The feria was crazy big and crowded. They had food, jewelry, soap, crafts, knives, beds, farm equipment, you name it for sale. With narrow streets and tons of people at a fair that has been going on for approximately the last 700 years, it was more crowded than NYC at Christmas.

IMG_6583 IMG_6624 IMG_6625

Luna got some cotton candy that was nearly as big as her!IMG_6660 IMG_6663

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_6696On our final day in Alcoy, we went for one last hike, and this time, we just went right up the mountain. We wasted no time getting a good view of the city. IMG_6698

We took the train back from Alcoy, which was way more enjoyable for me than the bus, despite the fact that the bus usually has wifi. I love the scenery and seeing the towns we pass through. Sorry this post isn’t more interesting or very well-written – I just felt like I had to give some sort of update before this weekend! I’m headed to Madrid, but my ride leaves at 9:15am and it’s almost 2 now! Ack! So much more to tell you and show you, plus stories from other things I’ve done in/near Valencia, but I’ll update you again before I ship out to Montpellier.

Luna the movie star

Luna the movie star

train view!

train view!

2 thoughts on “Hhhappy Hhhalloween & Hiking

  1. Kelsey Mc says:

    What’s with all the Hs? Also can you tell I took pain pills with caffeine and now can’t sleep so am catching up on commenting… it’s bad, I just read you in Feedly now so I don’t comment when I read them anymore!

Share your thoughts!

